Vintage Furniture – my latest finds.

I love vintage mid-century furniture. The geometric lines, the Asian influences, the high quality materials, and the long, low lines. I hate reproduction mid-century furniture. It’s all bright colors and shiny finishes and has none of the patina of age or the subtlety of the 50’s through the early 70’s. So when I find a good piece at a good price, I buy it, no questions asked. Fortunately I now have a big, empty house.

The first mid-century piece I ever bought was right after I graduated from college. I don’t have a picture of it, which is really tragic. It was a hand-crafted gramophone case on long, thin legs, in a pale ash wood. I got it for $80 at an antique store in MS. Gorgeous wrought iron hardware from Asia. And one time when I was moving in Lubbock, TX, a large gust of wind came and literally blew it over in the parking lot, smashing it to bits. That was the first time I ever cried over furniture. And not the last.

My favorite pieces for the last few years have been a pair of Danish Modern chairs from a dentist’s office. Also purchased in MS, at a charity shop for $25 (for the pair!!), I’ve used them and loved them for about 8 years now:

This is my dog, Pants. This is his chair.

Recently, I’ve added two new pieces to my collection.

I bought this one at a garage sale down the street. It’s from about 1963, a prime Mad Men-ish year. I bought it for $50, which I still can’t get over. It has minor scratches and a swadge of white paint on one of the edges, but is otherwise in mint condition.

For now, it’s going to be a bar, but I’m considering painting it the same deep blue as the front door.  < Inspiration  Clarendon Street eclectic hall

The inside is really cool. Pants likes it.

Nifty hardware.

The second piece I’ve bought recently is this a.maze.ing. divan. I bought it at the Disabled Veterans Thrift Shop here in Memphis for $75. I saw it from the road, spun my SUV around, and bought it on the spot. My husband laid on it in the back the whole way home, holding the back door down, since the piece was way too long for my vehicle. The cutout wooden sides, dainty legs, and shapely back are all reasons to love it. It’s a bit fancier than my aqua chairs, but I think they complement nicely. Masculine/Feminine and all that.

I am recovering the seat cushions (which are in good shape, but the same boring fabric as the rest of the thing) with this bird upholstery print I’ve been hoarding for about 10 years. Bought 3 yards, from WalMart, surprisingly, for $6 a yard.

Here’s the whole combo. You can see the paint color-to-be on the far wall by the foyer. It’s the same blue from our master bedroom, which you’ll see in a couple of days.

I really can’t wait to see all of this complete. Now I need a rug. And some tables.

Do you see the pale pear color of the foyer? I’m digging the way it plays off the robin’s egg blues and the oak of the floor.

More to come tomorrow!

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Vintage Furniture – my latest finds.

  1. Capri says:

    I like the idea of painting your schrank blue. Also kudos on knowing what fabric to put on the divan. You are so bold. I would have never thought of that.
    Loving pants in the pics by the way.

  2. Cate Cox says:

    I love the furniture, but your dog is what got my attention Pants looks exactly like my puppy Emma, we have been trying to figure out what she is for about 3 years. I got her from the pound so what is Pants?

  3. smartyposh says:

    Pants is a long-haired Chihuahua. 🙂 Mystery solved! They are a little larger than regular Chihuahuas, tend to have the “doe head” look, and can have a lot or a little hair, but always with long patches. They are sweeter, friendlier and more even-tempered than regular Chihuahuas as well.

Leave a Reply

